The Future

The future is scary. Lately it has been the only thing on my mind. Being a junior in college, the real world is closer than ever. I won’t be able to spend my days going to class, studying, applying for internships, hanging out with friends, or even going to the bar on a Wednesday night. I am not completely sure what I want to be when I grow up and I feel like maybe it’s too late to say that considering I feel pretty grown up. I have a lot of interests but don’t know if any of them will line up with a job I like. I wish I could work 40 hour weeks doing all of my job ideas at the same time so I would know, but obviously that is impossible. 

I’m interested in marketing and starting my own business. Those both line up with my majors but there are other things I may want to pursue. I think working for a non profit or doing something related to the community would be the most fufulling for me. I also think I would enjoy coaching a track or cross country team on the side. I would love to work with social media or even YouTube, but YouTube is more of a dream job that is not necessarily attainable. I would love to spend time living and working in a big city especially right out of college. I also think working in another country would be a great experience and allow me to grow/learn a lot. 

With all of that said, I am excited for the future that I think is so unclear and even scary right now. I’m excited to see where my career, my friendships, and adventures (hopefully lots of traveling) will take me! 

Leave a Reply

