ELLIE WEEKLY

Ellie Weekly #1

I came up with the idea to do these weekly posts the other night when I was brainstorming the post I shared before this. I imagine this being a fun, casual, diary-like post that I can share each week. It will be a mix of things I am doing, some of my favorites, how I am feeling, motivation, etc.

Hopefully this will be a fun series for the next couple of months. I am not sure how long I will do this, but I think it will be a nice check-in. I may end up making it a monthly post at some point too. Not sure quite yet! I also think if would be fun if you all commented on this with some of your responses each week.

Welcome to the first, official “Ellie Weekly”

High of week: I met up halfway between Chicago and Indianapolis to see my parents and sister. We kept our distance just to be safe, but it was nice to see them from across the parking lot. Also, my mom brought me blueberries which are my favorite and Clorox wipes which I have been out of for pretty much this entire quarantine.

Low of the week: My back has been hurting a lot from my desk set up (I think). Until I met up with my a parents the other day I was using a wooden, kitchen chair as my desk chair. I think the combination of that and just sitting all day have not been great for my back. Luckily, my parents had a couple extra chairs for Connor and I, so hopefully the back pain will go away in the next couple weeks.

Something I listened to this week:

Something I read this week: I don’t think I read an actual book at all this past week which is probably bad considering I need to finish a whole book this month to meet my May goals. A few of my coworkers and I are doing a book club, so that should help. I’m not sure it will count since Connor actually has it as an audiobook, so I’ll technically be listening to it. Anyway, I did read my old blog posts for a couple hours. It was cool to look back on my older posts.

Something I watched this week: I managed to watch both seasons of All American on Netflix in less than a week. I ended up really liking the show as I watched it more. My favorite characters are Olivia, Dillon, and Laura. Has anyone else watched this or is anyone currently watching?

A meal/snack/drink/dessert I made this week: This is uncharacteristic of me because it isn’t vegetarian, but I did make bacon for Connor this weekend. It was my first time making it and it was pretty easy. Connor has been eating a lot of vegetarian food since we have been home, so I thought that would be a good surprise for breakfast.

Something I ordered this week: I have been doing quite a bit of online shopping during this quarantine. This past week I got a couple packages in for my upcoming tie dye projects. One is a present for my friend that will be tie dyed and the other is a set of 18 tie dye colors that I got on Amazon. It’s advertised as a party tie dye kits so I guess I am having a party by myself. But I really am so excited to tie dye presents for some friends and then some other fun things!

An Instagram post I shared this week:

Favorite workout of the week: I have found so many fun workouts during this time at home which I’m sure I will share in future posts. However, my favorite workout from the past week was definitely my run on Saturday. The weather was perfect. The air was crisp, the sun was out, and I listened to some songs I used to love running to in college.

Someone who inspired me this week: Danielle Carolan inspired me on Sunday morning to clean my closet and do some more organizing. I started my Sunday by drinking and iced coffee and watching a couple YouTube videos. Her video was a closet clean out and it definitely convinced me to clean mine again. I found some new ways to organize, got rid of a few things, and put some winter clothes away for the summer.

Something I learned this week: I learned that I am a very nostalgic person. I guess I probably already knew this since I love looking at old pictures and listening to songs from different times of my life, but it really hit me when I was reading my old blog posts. And I guess I learned how to make bacon too haha!

Goal for next week: I want to figure out some kind of solution for all of my shoes (and Connor’s). I feel like they are everywhere and we have a pretty small apartment. I have a bag of shoes to donate already, but I’m probably going to go through them one more time too.

Something I am looking forward to next week: A long weekend and getting groceries because our fridge is pretty much only sparkling water at this point!

And that’s all for the first “Ellie Weekly” post!’ What do you think of this idea? I would love some feedback! Also, what do you think of the name? I thought of the name like 2 minutes after a hard workout, so I may not have been thinking clearly haha. ALSO, please share your weekly updates in the comments!!

HAVE A GREAT WEEK 🙂

P.S. I wonder how many times I typed the word “week” while I wrote this post haha. I’ll work on that for the next post ❤

7 thoughts on “Ellie Weekly #1”

  1. You should name it “Ellie Weeklie” 😉

    How are things going in IL? I have family in central IL and I know they are NOT happy about the fact that the state is still locked down because of Pritzker and of course the high number of cases in Cook County. Do you get a vibe from others in the city? Are you over it? Ready to get back to “normal” life? Has your work been impacted at all?

    Like

    1. Aw that is a good idea!!! Things are going ok and thank you for asking 🙂 I would say things are definitely quieter in the city right now especially with the weather warming up. Normally everyone would be out and about including myself haha. Whenever I go out for runs I still see a lot of people out, so I feel like it’s kind of a mix of people trying to stay home and then others who are definitely over it. Luckily I am working from home still so that has been good and keeps me in a good routine 🙂 How are things for you right now?

      Like

      1. Well I hope that things start to open up in IL soon or else so many businesses are NEVER going to reopen and then businesses that “can” allow their employees to work from home are going to start shutting too because of the impacts. I have a few friends who have mentioned that the other areas of the state are starting to file law suits against Pritzker and I hope they win. These shutdowns are just down right scary! 😦
        I am doing okay, things in Minnesota are starting to reopen and then bank I work for is actually doing really well but we just implemented a hiring freeze and no travel through 2021. So that is interesting. I am also in the process of buying a house so I am a little nervous about all of the impacts from the shutdowns and the future of the economy. 😦
        p.s. What has been your favorite part of the shut downs/ least favorite thing? My favorite has definitely been seeing my life slow down a bit! 🙂

        Like

      2. Thats great that your job is going well 🙂 and congrats on buying a home!! That is super exciting! Hopefully everything will go ok with that despite everything going on now. I think my favorite part of being home is not having to get ready for work and having more time for things I often put off. My least favorite part is either not being able to travel or the lack of human interaction haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this! I love reading about what other people are up to 🙂

    Our friend from Chicago drove up to our house a couple of weekends ago (I live in MI) and we visited from a distance. It was nice to catch up and hear about how things are in the city. Sounds kind of like a ghost town!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you!! and same! Chicago is definitely quieter than usual, but I also feel like everyone is out and about on the sunny days haha. how are things in Michigan?

      Like

Leave a comment