FOOD

My Juice Cleanse Experience

Last week I did a juice cleanse for the first time ever. I had never been interested in doing a juice cleanse. I prefer to chew my food and really don’t care for juice in general. However, Connor got a free juice cleanse from work, so I decided it was worth a try.

I ordered the juice cleanse like a month in advance. The juice came from the brand Jùs By Julie. I think it is based in New York. You can schedule when you want the cleanse delivered and there are multiple options for the length of time. The one-day cleanse was the free one, so that’s what I selected. It came a day late and I ended up freezing them because none of the days when it was delivered ended up working out.

The night before the cleanse I set the juices out to thaw. The instructions said that was what I was supposed to do. There were 6 juices in total. 3 of them were green juices, one had chia seeds, one had peanut butter, and the other was a spicy lemonade. I was initially pretty excited for the cleanse, but that quickly changed.

The first juice was called “Sweet Spin” (kale, spinach, pineapple, banana, mango, & rice milk). It was one of my favorites, but that was probably because it was the first juice. I had this one for breakfast and then a couple hours later, I drank the “Spicy Lemonade” (lemon, maple syrup, & cayenne). This was my favorite. I would drink this one everyday and I’m not a huge lemonade fan.

I had another green house for lunch. It was called “Green Radiance” (spinach, apples, strawberries, mango, coconut oil, & ginger). I was not a fan of this one. And at this point I had a bit of a stomach ache. I managed to drink one more at work, but I didn’t finish it. “Chia Berry” (chia seeds, pomegranate, strawberry, lemon, & agave) was not my favorite, but I think I would have liked it more if I hadn’t been drinking juice all day.

I got home from work and couldn’t imagine drinking another juice. I opened the “PB & Jùs” (peanut butter, strawberry, banana, & rice milk) and tasted it. Honestly, this was the juice I really wanted to try, but I had Connor drink it. The last juice, “Xtreme Greens” (spinach, kale, orange, pineapple, hemp seed, and lime” was the final green juice. I drank it the next day at work for breakfast. I just couldn’t keep drinking juice. I did have a little snack that wasn’t juice in the evening because I was hungry and did not want another juice.

Here are my overall thoughts. Juice has its time and place, and that’s maybe once a day. I missed eating real food and having variety. I was tired a majority of the day. The only time I had energy was immediately after drinking the juice. But the energy quickly disappeared. I had a headache most of the day and a stomach ache early in the morning. I do think I would have liked the juices individually throughout the course of the week.

I would do another juice cleanse to try again, but I couldn’t imagine more than a one-day cleanse. I don’t really know what positive results come out of a juice cleanse, but I guess you can feel good about eating real food and ingredients. Have you ever done a juice cleanse? How did you feel about the cleanse? If you haven’t done a juice cleanse, would you try one?

Leave a comment