My Junior Year is Over!!

My junior year of college has been one of the best. I can’t say it was the best year because each year has been so different and fun in many ways. I have learned a lot this year and got to do a lot of fun things.

My classes this year were kind of all over the place. First semester I was in a block four classes, operations, finance, management, and marketing. I enjoyed about half of the classes. I can see the benefits of all of them, but I was not super interested in them. After taking those classes first semester, I decided I wanted to switch up my major. I decided on majors in entrepreneurship and marketing. I am much more excited about these areas and think I would enjoy working in marketing or trying to start my own business.

My second semester classes were all entrepreneurship based and classes that were required. I took an ethics class that was super interesting. I think being a part of an ethical company is very important and something I plan to look into greatly. I took a class on venture management, which was my favorite class. We did a lot of case studies about companies and entrepreneurs and had lots of discussion. I took a venture ideas/models class where I created my own business idea and ultimately ended up hating it. But it was still useful and I know the process and its challenges will stick with me. My other classes were pretty boring and not super impactful, but I got to meet a lot of new people through group projects.


Outside of school related things, I got to go on a few trips and have many fun college experiences. Fall was all about football games and tailgates. I love getting together with all of my friends on Saturdays for the games. Halloween was another fun weekend of course, because it is one of my favorite days of the year. I went on a short trip to Grand Rapids with Connor which was fun. And of course, basketball season began, we started out strong, but things did not quite work out in our favor. Regardless, I love IU basketball.

The spring was full of my friends 21st birthdays, which all happened to be around the same time, but it was really fun. I went to Chicago with friends. We explored the city and went to Dunkin’ Donuts a lot because we don’t have them where we go to school. I went on spring break with my friends. It wasn’t that warm, but we made the most of it. I went to Tennessee and Arkansas with Connor and it was such a fun weekend ( I posted about it, so check it out). And the final big event of the year was Little 500, which is pretty much the greatest and most tiring week of the year. I got to celebrate the whole week with lots of friends and watch another friend race that Saturday! It was awesome to see him and his team place so well!


I would say I branched out a lot more this year and said yes more, which I think is good. I got good grades, but was still able to have a little fun. I also started trying way more foods. I learned I love grilled cheese and that I am obsessed with sushi. Honestly, going to sushi on Tuesdays was probably one of my favorite parts of the year. Overall, I loved my junior year and can’t believe next year is my last year of college. I am excited to spend one final year with my friends and finally start my marketing classes!

 

Leave a Reply

