Chicago Food Part 2

I’m sure you are all super surprised to see this in your feed, just kidding. I love food, so this is necessary. You never know, there may even be a part 3. Anyway, you know the drill. I’m going to share some of the foods/restaurants I have been enjoying since my last post! FYI I really don’t eat breakfast that much, so I haven’t tried that many places. I am definitely a bigger fan of lunch/dinner foods.

Breakfast

Stan’s Donuts


I’m not sure why it took me so long to go here, but I have been there a total of 3 times in about 2 weeks. Not proud, but also not ashamed. I love the pistachio donut! I got the glazed pistachio the first time and the lemon pistachio old fashioned the second time. I can’t decide which I liked more. I also sampled some others like the blueberry fritter (SO GOOD) and the peanut butter banana pocket.

Lunch/Dinner

Ramen San


I have been here twice because I liked it that much! I get the shiitake ramen with an egg and it is so delicious and satisfying. Honestly I love anything with noodles. It is definitley a more expensive meal for me, ending up at close to 17/18 dollars after tip, but it is well worth it. It is also open pretty late, until 12am, so that is always a plus.

Broken English Taco Pub


If you want a good margarita, go here. I loved mine. I ordered passion fruit and it was super tasty, and also a little strong, but I am not a fan of super sweet margaritas. I liked how they salted the side of the glass, rather than the rim. It looked cool. As for the food, which I sadly don’t have a photo of, it was really yummy. The portions are pretty small considering each meal is just two tacos. However, if you go on a Tuesday, the tacos are 2 dollars. ALSO, Monday through Friday you can get margaritas for 6 dollars from 4 to 7.

Half Day Brewing

This place is in the suburbs, but definitely a nice place to grab some classic bar food, and some not so classic bar food, considering the food I got. I started with a moscow mule, which was so good. It had mint in it which I liked. For my meal, I got a mushroom sandwich. It was so good and perfectly filling. The chips that came with were different than regular potato chips in my opinion, but were still good!

Public House


I heard of this place because of the giant moscow mules they have there. I went there with my friends one weekend. I got grilled cheese, which isn’t super exciting, but it was good. It came with fries too and they were really good. At the end of the meal, I was so full, but I feel like it was a good deal. Obviously I got a moscow mule and I went for the pear kind just to be different. It wasn’t as good as a regular mule, but still enjoyed it!


I went back a second time after work with some of my fellow interns. I finally got to have the giant moscow mule that drew me to Public House in the first place. It was really good and of course perfect to share between 2 to 4 people.

Friends Sushi


This is the best sushi I have had in Chicago. It was fair priced for Chicago and the restaurant was in a good location, right off the redline. I got a sweet potato roll and an avocado roll, which were both yummy. Not the best sushi I have ever had, but I love sushi, so I am always just happy to have some.

Quartino

 

I really wanted to go to Quartino because I heard such good things about it from everyone regarding the food and the service. I have to say my food definitely impressed me. I got fettuccini alfredo, which is my favorite kind of pasta. It was sooo good and tasted so fresh. I can’t say the service was great when I went, but I know people have raved about it.

Late Night Snacks

Cheesie’s Pub and Grub


Had to try this at Lollapalooza. 1. Because I was starving and 2. because I had heard it was pretty good. I got the caprese grilled cheese. It was definitely cheesy, but it hit the spot. I can’t say it was my favorite grilled cheese place, but it would definitely be good as a late night snack.

Dessert

Amorino


If you like taking pictures of your food, this is a good place for you to go. The gelato is also really good! When I went I tried pistachio, chocolate, and almond. I think the almond was my favorite. The gelato is formed into a flower so it was really cute and I obviously took pictures of it.

Leave a Reply

