New Adventures 

Long time no blog! I am currently taking the train back from my job in Chicago right now! I am interning in Chicago the entire summer and have been settling in the past couple of weeks in the city and at my job. I wanted to take the time to share some things I have been doing and things I am excited about for my summer here in Chicago. It’s kind of weird writing about summer right now because it is actually pretty chilly out right now! But it has been warm ever since I got here. 


 I was a little nervous about getting lost and taking the train in Chicago this summer, but I’d say I’m doing pretty well so far. I actually enjoy the train rides most days. It is relaxing just staring out the window in the morning and having time to just do nothing and wake up more before I actually get to work. I am pretty proud of myself because I have finally begun to transfer trains to make my walk to work a little shorter. I was always scared I would get on the wrong train, but so far so good. There are a few things I don’t love about Chicago, but otherwise I love being here and exploring. I really don’t enjoy the wind. My umbrella broke on a rainy day so I was a little sad, but it just adds to my opinion that rain jackets are better anyway. Furthermore, I can barely move when I’m running because the wind just pushes me in the opposite direction. I also don’t like that I can’t go to a Kroger to grocery shop. I miss all of the selection and scanning my Kroger card at the end of my transaction. I imagine shopping at Aldi is saving me money though, so I think I can cope for now. Chicago is expensive, but I knew that so I can’t complain. Also, I really miss my home, friends, family, adorable cousins, boyfriend, driving in a car, etc. 


Other than those few things, I love it here. I think it is so nice to kind of be a real adult and make new friends. Other than the days I’m so tired, I like waking up early to catch a train and getting work done before anyone gets to the office. I also like actually being able to fall asleep right away at night because I’m so tired from getting up early and working out right before. It’s a pretty nice system I have going I would say. 

Regarding my job, there are a lot of really nice people and opportunities. I love the coffee and getting to work different things to ultimately discuss with my manager. I like where I sit at work. Of course I like the occasional free food. Overall, I am enjoying my job and think it’ll get even better as the summer progresses. 


I have loved seeing one of my greatest friends every day especially because before this summer we only saw each other a couple times a year. It is nice to explore and have nightly work outs with her! I also think the city is so fun. I think it’s pretty and love all of the food options because I’m obsessed with food. Having a city and a lake all in one place is pretty cool too because it is the best of both worlds. I love spending the week in the city and going to the beach for a day or part of the day on the weekend. 


I will definitely be posting more about my adventures this summer, so stick around for more! 

Leave a Reply

