The Joy of Running


I saw this picture posted from Runner’s World on Facebook yesterday and it really made me evaluate the way I feel about running. I know I post on here all the time about running, how I am training for something or not running at the moment. I have been on all ends of the spectrum with running in the past year. But when I saw that post I was sad. I thought back to a few months ago when I would want to run often and run long every day. I thought maybe I had just lost my joy of running.

So a few hours later I went running. It was around 9pm and nice outside. It felt like old times. Running around campus, dying from being exhausted, and making myself sprint up the hills. I didn’t make it super far because I am in horrible shape, but I was so happy. I hadn’t lost the joy I experience when running. I have just been placing something I love on the back burner.

I don’t want to do that anymore because the feeling of running can change my entire day. Even the shortest of runs can have a huge impact on my mood and overall outlook on a day. It might be hard to get back to where I was, but living without something I love, especially since I have control when and how often I run, would never be worth it. I love running and cannot wait to be running often and running long.

 

Leave a Reply

