Half Marathon Training Part 3

Training has not been as consistent as I would like, but life happens and that’s fine. I am not a professional runner and have to go do my homework and be a normal kid. School has been so busy and stressful lately, so I haven’t had as much time to run as I would like. My long runs definitely suffered for a couple weeks, but I’m back at it, and very happy about it.

I do think my shorter training weeks were good for me because my knee had been bothering me a lot, so I think the shorter runs gave it a little break. I can actually eat my frozen vegetables now instead of icing my knee with them!

I have also been switching up some of the meals I eat… well basically breakfast. While I am at school I barely ever make oatmeal, and I have been having it every morning lately. I feel so much more energized when I am running now. I used to eat a protein bar for breakfast because it was easy, but waking up a little earlier to have a proper breakfast has definitely made my runs much easier and less tiring.

I am excited that my last month of training before the race can be all outside. It has finally warmed up and is perfect for running and the indoor track is not my ideal running location.

Long runs will be much more appealing on the days when I really don’t want to run for that long because of how much nicer it is outside. I have also rediscovered a song that is my current favorite to run to.. “In My Head” by Jason Derulo. I repeat it way too many times during my runs, but it just puts me in a great running mood, and I even pick up my pace a little bit.

Running is much more fun now that I am not drowning in exams and schoolwork and I will definitely have lots of time over my spring break to log more miles!

What is your favorite pre-run meal/snack?

Do you have any races coming up?

4 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training Part 3

Leave a Reply

