Half Marathon Training Part 2 

It’s been about 3 weeks since I last updated on my training. It has been going really well and I always feel so inspired after my long runs.

However, there are those days when the last thing on my mind is running or I feel like I don’t have time, but once I’m out the door, I never regret it.

I think this training has helped me fall back into loving my long runs. For awhile I was always doing short & speedy runs, but now I have embraced runs over an hour where I can be by myself or enjoy my music.

So far I have been doing 8-9 miles for my long runs. I actually have a lot of time before the race (about 2 months) so I am doing a few of the training weeks more than once. It is kind of a nice break that way especially during stressful weeks of classes. I have begun to incorporate more hills (when it is not freezing outside and I can escape the indoor track) into my runs because the course I will be racing is full of them, and I don’t want to be too surprised.

I recently changed up the music on my iPod shuffle (I don’t know how people can stand running with their phones). It was a great decision. I was so used to the same songs playing over and over each day, so switching it up has made training way more fun. I get more excited to keep running because I get to see what song is next.

The songs I listen to are pretty random and that is good for me because the variety of music helps me speed up and slow down during the longer runs. It is a good way to mix it up so I don’t get super bored. Songs like “Fly With Me” (Jonas Brothers), “Just Over” (Luke Bryan), “Follow Me” (Hardwell feat. Jason Derulo), and iSay (Wiz Khalifa) have been some of the best.

Overall, I am having a lot of fun and always feel so happy after I get my longer runs and harder runs done for the week! I hope anyone who is training for a race is enjoying it and feels ready to take on their race! Also, I would love to know what you listen to during runs, whether it is music, podcasts, etc.

Leave a Reply

