2016: The Year of Spinach

If you read my last post about my 2016 goals, you would know that I want to incorporate more spinach into my meals this year.

So far, I would say it is going pretty well. Spinach pretty much matches all foods in my opinion, but that is also coming from someone who puts cottage cheese on just about anything.

I wanted to share how I am adding more spinach into my meals each day. Some of them are pretty obvious, but they are all super delicious.

  1. Smoothies- I would say it is pretty common to add greens to your smoothies. It was a pretty big trend in 2015. I like to add blueberries, a banana, almond milk, and spinach to my smoothies. Sometimes I will add vanilla protein powder if it is after a run or a work out.
  2. Eggs- Adding spinach to your eggs is super easy and it can help you pack a lot of spinach into your diet as it loses some volume as you cook it. I add some salsa to top it off and it makes a great breakfast, or any meal for that matter.
  3. Salads- This is probably the most obvious because salads are literally spinach or other greens, but I like to decorate my salads differently than most people. I top my spinach salads with blueberries, avocado, tomato, olives or broccoli or peas (if I have any), and cottage cheese as a dressing. It is so tasty and packed with protein, iron, healthy fats, and antioxidants.

Those are the three main ways I find myself incorporating spinach into my diet, other than just eating it by itself. I will definitely be trying out new smoothie and salad recipes using spinach as the year goes on!

Let me know how you incorporate spinach into the foods you make/eat.

Leave a Reply

