Pick Your Protein: My Favorite Protein Bars 

Protein bars are one of my favorite foods and I am always trying different flavors and brands. I feel like protein bars and supplements can be a little controversial and maybe not the “healthiest” for you because you can get protein from more natural foods, but I love them. I try to mix it up and have some that are more natural than others, but I do love some of the bars that are more geared towards people trying to gain a lot of muscle. I wanted to share some of my favorite protein bars because they make a nice addition to meals or snacks on the go.

My overall favorite protein bar is the Quest Bar. I have tried almost all of the flavors. They have 20 to 21 grams of protein which is perfect for after a workout. My favorite flavor is chocolate chip cookie dough and chocolate peanut butter. I’m not exactly sure what some of the ingredients actually are but I like how they taste so it’s fine. The worst thing about Quest Bars is the price. They run anywhere from $2.50 to $3.

Luna Bars are a staple in my diet because they are gluten free and pretty inexpensive compared to other bars. They are usually $1, which isn’t bad for 10 to 12 grams of protein. There are lots of flavors and some with more protein than others. I prefer the protein versions over the traditional kinds, but both are good. My favorite flavors are chocolate chip cookie dough and lemon vanilla. If you just want to stick to the traditional bar, caramel nut brownie is the best. They kind of taste like dessert so that is another plus.



NuGo nutrition bars are perfect if you love chocolate like I do. Many of the flavors are vegan and gluten free which is great. They have a coating of dark chocolate on them and have 10 grams of protein. If you want a sweeter bar they are perfect for you. I think they make a great sweet snack at the end of the day. I love the regular dark chocolate one and the salted pretzel flavor. They are on the more expensive side, ranging from $2.50 to $3.


I recently tried a B-UP bar. It was good, but I expected better. I would still recommend them because they are packed with protein and are really soft compared to other bars. I tried the mint chocolate flavor. I usually love mint bars, but I just liked it. The price was the highest of any of the bars I have mentioned. It was $3.19. I think I would like another flavor better and will definitely be trying more.

Go Macro bars are one of my new favorites. They are made of more natural ingredients like nuts, dates, and fruit. They are $2.79, but are very filling compared to the other bars I eat. Apple walnut is my favorite flavor so far. It is perfect for a quick breakfast because it tastes kind of like oatmeal. The protein content varies with these so just watch out for that if you are wanting more than the 6 grams that many of them have.

Perfectly Simple bars were my favorite in high school.  The oatmeal chocolate chip was my favorite.  The great thing about them is the short ingredient list.  You know exactly what is in each bar.  The 10 grams of protein you get is definitely worth the $1 you pay at most stores.  They are typically on sale at Kroger.

Overall, I would recommend trying all of these protein bars and more.  It seems like there are endless choices at the grocery store.  It is just a matter of deciding what you want in your protein bar.  I like to mix it up and have a variety, but if I were to recommend one it would be the Quest bar.  However, if you don’t want to spend close to $3 on a protein bar, go for a Luna Bar.

Leave a Reply

