Me and Earl and the Dying Girl: Book vs. Movie

I was so excited to see Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, but as always I had to read the book first.  I sat down one Sunday afternoon and read it.  I liked the book a lot.  It was funny, honest, and sad in some parts.  It was no surprise that I liked it because I always love a book told from the perspective of a teenage boy.  I laughed out loud while reading it and could easily imagine Greg, the main character, saying and doing everything in the book.  I liked how the book wasn’t about him falling in love with her.  Before reading it, I figured he would end up being in love with her, but he wasn’t.  Half the time I wondered why he was even visiting her and hanging out with her because it seemed like he didn’t like her much.  Honestly, I really didn’t care for the parts of the book involving the movies Greg and Earl made.  It was boring to me and I know that was a big part of the book.  Overall, the book was very funny and to the point.  I would definitely recommend it and it is a pretty quick read if you don’t like reading long books.

On the other hand, the movie was not very good.  I took my sister along to see it and I was kind of bored during a lot of it.  The way it was filmed was a little weird, but I don’t know anything about filming movies.  There were some funny parts of the movie.  I thought that Earl and Rachel’s mom were the reason I laughed so hard during the movie, whereas in the book, it was Greg.  I expected to laugh as much as I did during the book, but the movie was much more depressing.  It focused so much on the movies they made and spending time with Rachel, which was good and all, but it also made the movie drag on way too long.  I didn’t come to see 20 short films within the movie I actually wanted to see.  I think the movie did a great job of wrapping the whole story up though.  It was easy to understand that Greg didn’t truly get to know Rachel before she died.  The way that realization was shown allowed the message to sink in a lot to the viewer.

The book was so much better than the movie.  I would recommend the book, and suggest that you only see the movie if you really love the book.  I preferred laughing and being a little sad when reading the book.  Watching the movie slowly unfold made it too sad for me, especially when I expected to laugh at least a little bit.

Leave a Reply

