Putting Things in Perspective: TV Shows

The other day I was thinking about how tv can actually put a lot of things in perspective and teach the viewer things about the world or themselves.  I don’t think you should spend your whole day watching tv, but I do think that having a few shows you like to watch can be good.  I think there are a lot of good shows out there that can teach you something.  They don’t even need to be true stories or educational.

I was thinking about this while watching Degrassi of all things.  I hadn’t seen that show in years but ended up watching it one night when nothing else was on.  It is definitely an interesting show and it addresses many issues that people can face in life, but mostly from the high school perspective.  I was watching it and thinking how lucky I am and how thankful I am for the life I have.  I was grateful before watching the show obviously, but after seeing all of the situations, good and bad, that the characters were going through, it really drove home the fact that I love the life that I am living.  I am surrounded by great, supportive people, numerous opportunities, and much more.  I think tv can do a good job of showing many things life can bring about.  I think regardless of who you are or the situation you are in, seeing different stories on tv can make you see the good things your life has to offer, while showing new or different experiences other people have in reality or just from the storyline of the show.

I think tv shows can teach you about how others live, new places, unique experiences, and much more.  But it can also open your eyes to your own life and show you the little things, or big things, that make your life so great.  I know that I am so thankful I am not on a reality tv show, or competing to be a Food Network Star, or even a student at Degrassi.  I love the life I am living and I think watching tv shows now and then serve as a great reminder that I do.

Leave a Reply

