My Favorite Recipes

I am a vegetarian and gluten-free, so sometimes I have a hard time finding things I can eat/like to eat.  I will pretty much mix any foods together and think the mixture tastes pretty good.  I just wanted to share a few of my favorite things to eat…some are really easy/quick to make and others take a little bit longer, but are worth the time.

-Blueberry Baked Oatmeal-  I use 3 cups of rolled oats, 1 1/4 cup of milk, 1/4 cup on canola oil, 2 egg whites, 1 egg, 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 2 teaspoons of baking powder, and as many blueberries as I want.  I mix all of the ingredients together and then put the mixture in an 11 by 7 pan.  I sprinkle cinnamon on top and put it in a 350 degree oven for around 35 minutes. This is the best oatmeal I have ever had, and whenever I make it, it doesn’t last long.

-Protein Pancakes- I take 2 cups of rolled oats, 2 cups of cottage cheese, 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder, 1/2 a cup of egg whites, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and as much cinnamon and honey as I want.  Then, I put it all in a blender.  Once it is all blended, I can make my pancakes.  They taste great with fruit on top, jam (like in the cover picture), or peanut butter (Mighty Maple from Peanut Butter & Co. tastes best in my opinion).

-Yogurt with Peanut Butter- I usually use vanilla Greek yogurt.  Then, I just mix in any flavor peanut butter.  My favorite to use is Dark Chocolate Dreams from Peanut Butter & Co.  Sometimes I add in blueberries and rolled oats as well.

-Brown Rice and Cottage Cheese- This might sound weird, but I love to mix rice with cottage cheese.  You can use any amount or type of rice.  I just prefer brown.  Even if you don’t think it would be good, it is always worth a try.  Plus, you get good carbs from the brown rice, and protein from the cottage cheese.  It also tastes good with veggies mixed in.

-Roasted Carrots- This is really easy, but so good.  You can also use any veggies you like.  Sometimes I use asparagus or broccoli.  I just take some carrots and put them on a pan.  Then, I drizzle a little olive oil over them and add some pepper.  I put them in a 350 degree oven and they are done in around 15 minutes.

-Brown Sugar Tofu- I mix 1 tablespoon of brown sugar, 2 tablespoons of cornstarch, and a lot of pepper.  Then I coat tofu in the mixture.  Once it is coated, I cook it on a wok or on the stove until it golden brown.  It ends up having a sweet and spicy taste because of the brown sugar and the pepper.

Leave a Reply

